To smut or not to smut…

Writers are idealists. At least, fictional writers are. We look around the world we live in and dream up ways to make it more bearable for ourselves. We dream up ways to explain ourselves.

For instance… I crave adventure and excitement, and that’s what my stories are about. But then within those, are my ideals if the world. I feel people are stupid and shouldn’t be allowed to breed without licensing. I incorporated that into one book. I crave spontaneous romance, and have worked that into the books.

While it might not all be good, it’s how we think life should be dealt out.

I’ve been fighting with myself for a long time about the maturity level to write my books for. I discovered my love for reading as a pre teen. Thankfully the one thing my mother didn’t want to sensor from me, were books. I could have picked up one of her smut novels and she would have just been happy I was reading. But I know not every parent is like that.

At the same, my characters are adults, their fighting an adult war. They’re facing issues like sexual tension, torture, and a plethora of things that would force the most noble of men to their knees. While I don’t think something as graphic as Fifty Shades of Grey are in order, I do think the story lends itself to be told from a more adult point of view.

Military personnel swear, and while I will keep it at a minimum, there will be the occasional f bomb. There will also be sex. We live in a society of prudes. They’re embarrassed about their own sexuality and treat it like the elephant in the room. I think we all need to grow up and assess it instead of sneaking off into the dark and just assuming it happens.

I’m working on rewriting this book for the hundredth time. It’s my unicorn, the one that has to be perfect. Looking at it now though, I already know it’s yet another draft. Though I think it will work this time. It just needs detail, substance and fluff. Force my way though it, the fluff can come later.

This is the one I really can’t wait to read allowed with Nik for editing.

Leave a Reply

