so slooow….

I am currently editing page 165 of 328. My eyes are so tired, though thankfully my back isn’t hurting anymore. I broke down and popped a muscle relaxer for it. So 165, and I’m just getting up to the newer stuff. The stuff I’d added into the third draft. All of the stuff that my friend Nikki hadn’t read yet. Just as I thought, I’m holding steady at my word count. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that I can work in another 10k, but I won’t be heartbroken if I can’t. It’ll be a decent sized book regardless. 

I got a scene written for the next book. It came to me today at work. There stands Nicholai, his first time in space, on deck surrounded by half a dozen aliens. If anyone has ever been removed from their comfort zone – it was him, in that moment, trying to convince the group to commit treason. I love my rebel rousing Nicholai. You’d think I’d fall in love with a character that’s more my type, but from the moment I started writing, he took on a life of his own. 

I never expected that he would somehow become the center, not just for my current series, but an anchor for everything else we’re working on. I just hope everyone else enjoys him as much as we do.

Leave a Reply

