Productive Saturday

Today is the first day my stomach hasn’t felt like something was inside trying to claw itself out. I suppose I shouldn’t be surprised that I couldn’t be very creative with a stomach bug. I’m still disappointed that I didn’t get any work on my book done this week.

Okay – I suppose I shouldn’t say ANY.

This week I found someone that is willing to do my cover art at a reasonable price. I’ve loved his work for a very long time and I was able to get a response. I think it will work out perfect. Once I know for certain, I’ll post his D.A. site on here so everyone else can enjoy.

I’ve also come up with a few small things – bits and pieces of some scenes. Went over some parts with my friend Nikki. I was finally able to make a few adjustments on book one today. I expanded the beginning, introducing the main character first. Securing that the book is really from his point of view. I also added a scene toward the end as proof that the series not over yet so people will keep looking for more. I then went back and changed a few scenes to draw people in instead of it being so textbook. Description is great… but there is a thing as too much. I’ve tried to keep my descriptions short and sweet. Enough to give the reader a decent idea of what the world looks like without describing every single tile on the floor.

Also today, I’ve worked in the garden, trimmed some branches, cleaned the ferret’s cage, bathed said ferrets… yeah I think that’s really about it. We’re going to be going to an Arena ball game later to see the Tampa Bay Storm take on the Jacksonville Sharks. YAY! It’ll be fun!

Tomorrow – I’m getting up and making cupcakes. Not just any cupcakes – but apple cider cupcakes. I made apple cider bread last week and it was amazing. So my friend is having a cupcake party for her birthday. So I’m going to turn them into cupcakes and put an apple cinnamon glaze on them. It’ll be delicious! Hopefully I can get the oven timing just right so they won’t be overdone.

And somewhere during all of this… I’ve discovered the exact thing that I’ve been missing in my book – the reason for the crew of ETC to be delayed. Now that I know that – I can keep writing. Push through the slow part if I have to – I can come back to it. That’s what second drafts are for. Though I’ve re-read what I’ve gotten so far a few times – and I’m still wholly impressed with myself. So I don’t think I’m going to have to do too much to it except fluff. Can you sit down without a solid idea and start writing?

Of course you can.

It might take you a few years to actually see that story come to life – but you can do it. Well I don’t have to worry about that anymore. I have the details and it’s flowing. Book 2 should be able to be out mere months after book 1. Then I can get ETC out, which happens at the same time as book 1. From there – we move on to the crossover – Still working on the plan for that one. I need a good plot – a few scenes are already coming together.

Leave a Reply

