Options

I have found that the biggest mistake you can make, whether it’s writing or editing, is stopping in the middle of what you’re working on. Get through your full draft, push through that boring editing. The moment you stop in the middle – everything just fizzles away.

Life jumps up impatiently and says “do this, go here, discover this… oh yeah, and forget that.” Whatever momentum you might have had built up just trickles away like the tide retreating back to the ocean. And until that swell returns, you might as well forget being able to pick back up where you were. 

A big part of me wants to try and knock out a draft of my other book. The pragmatic side however keeps urging me to focus on one thing at a time. My brain has never enjoyed working on one thing at a time, so even that is a trial in itself. 

Will I be able to get Forgotten Guardian published though? I’ll be able to pick it back up and have it done before the end of the year. Short of planning for Terry’s birthday now, there’s not really too much to get in the way. Well of course the usual. Ethan’s school, work, holidays – daily crap that comes and goes. 

My boy came home today. He came rushing out of the house when I got home from work, only to immediately ask if he could go play with his friends. I went out of my way to make him his favorite dish, and he only ate like 3 bites. He was anxious and excited though – things will be better tomorrow I’m sure. 

I have a hope – that sounds moronic – whatever. I have an expired IUD. Well what I didn’t realize is that one of the side effects from these IUD’s is weight gain. So I’m planning on getting it removed and hoping to high heavens to discover that’s the reason I haven’t been able to lose any weight since Ethan was born. It would make sense. With as few calories as I consume and as much energy as I expel, there is NO reason I shouldn’t be able to lose weight unless there is another factor. So I’m keeping my fingers crossed there.

Otherwise… I’m sitting here thinking I’ve been giving into sleep too willingly. It’s not quite ten thirty and I’m ready to retreat to the bedroom and pass the blazes out. *sigh* I have to not only be able to stay up till at least 11-11:30, but still be able to get up at 6:30. Otherwise I will never be able to accomplish anything.

Get up early, work out a little bit – get the kid ready for school, me ready for work and head out. Work – duh. Get home, make dinner, eat, family time, clean up, go for evening walk/run. Get boy cleaned up, clean up kitchen, do whatever laundry. Kid to bed by 9. That means the only time I have to do anything is between 9 and ______ whatever the hell time it is I give up and die with my pillow. Those few hours need to be my most productive. 

I suppose my other alternative would be go to bed about 9-10 and get up early. Do whatever morning work out routine I designate and then try to do my writing in the AM. I tend to think better in the morning. By the end of the night I’m ready to dig my eyes out of my skull. I suppose I’ll see if I can work on getting up at a time even the birds find obscene. 

Leave a Reply

