Appalachian Trail

It has been a long time dream of mine to hike the Appalachian Trail.

My dad gave me the bug. To clarify, his misinformation called to my inner explorer.

We used to hike all of the time when I was a kid. We’d stop on the side of the road and just blaze our own trail. We’d take drives up to Mount Mitchell or Mount Pisgah and just roam all over the mountains. Old Red Socks used to tell me that the whole area was part of the A.T. So I was in love with the idea of seeing more of this massive trail growing up.

As I got older and researched the information, I discovered that the A.T. actually follows along the North Carolina/Tennessee border. This never changed my desire to take it on. As the days pass by, that desire grows stronger and stronger. So I’ve made up my mind.

I shall spend the next three years training, planning, and preparing to embark on the adventure of a lifetime. A six month journey from Georgia to Maine on foot. We’ll secure our gear slowly, making sure it’s the right stuff, test it in the field once we get to NC. Hike a little bit every day (even if it’s only a mile). In 2019, 2020 latest, I will be setting foot on the trailhead, ready to go.

3 thoughts on “Appalachian Trail

  1. Awesome! I am setting out March 2018! I’m just going for it! Best of wishes! If you’re on Facebook I would suggest becoming part of the Appalachian Trail Women’s group. I have gotten so much knowledge and encouragement from the awesome ladies in the group. Happy Trails!

Leave a Reply

