We’re not alone

I love the feature that allows me to schedule my posts. That way I don’t have a bunch of them exploding upon the internet at once. The only time this isn’t convenient is when I happen to mention a time or something. Such as this morning. It’s Sunday… it’s early. I’ve just let the dogs out. I could go back to bed, easily. I can generally fall asleep within moments of my head hitting the pillow, even when I’ve already been up and moving around. It’s my super power. But I always feel like I’m missing out on my day when I sleep for too long. Not that I can do a whole lot when there are people still snoozing in the house, but I can sit at my computer.

I often joke that we have faeries in the house when things go missing. Mischievous, playful and sometimes vindictive, they steal and hide away your belongings. We’ve seen quite a bit of activity lately. I’m not an organized person per say, but I am consistent on where I tend to put things. This is how I know I’m not just crazy. On second thought, redact that last statement.

Last night as I stretched out in bed, the dog started digging on his pillow. There was no apparent reason, he just got the urge to dig. So I got up, walked over, and popped him lightly on the nose and made him lay down. I climbed back into bed and was just closing my eyes when out of no where I smell maple syrup. I had barely a second to contemplate the aroma when I hear a small child’s voice say “hello”. I stretched to look back toward the door. It didn’t sound like my son, nor was it directed at me. It was out in the hallway at the dog’s level.

Figuring the fae’s conversation with the canine was none of my business, I shrugged and rolled over to fall asleep.

I suppose that I really need to get my butt into gear to get the house cleaned up and start leaving some offerings. There are still a couple of things that they’ve hidden so well I’ve resigned myself to them being gone for good.

Leave a Reply

