Characters

The things we hate.

During my time here, I’ve met hundreds of people. Most of them amazing, but only a handful could I begin to call… unforgettable. Fewer than that could I call friend.

That being said, many are characters in and of themselves. People come through to teach us lessons, care for us or give us something to care about.

One such character made me laugh more than anyone in a very long time. Be it stories, jokes, actions, or even just day to day griping (of which there was a lot). So much griping in fact that I started a list of all the things he hated. And then it kind of dawned on me that his list wasn’t so specific. It was a reflection of things many of us despise.

We yell at other drivers on the road. Grumble about people refusing to take personal responsibility. All of these characters… we all have things in common. It’s how we band together and make connections.

But sometimes we end up being so self absorbed, that we forget to allow ourselves to learn from others. The differences. We get closed off, set in a rut and let our who dictate life. There’s always something these characters can teach us. It doesn’t matter if those people are our elders, or in this case ten years our junior.

I’m thankful for the lessons I’ve learned, professional, technical and personal. I hope you all strive to be open and learn something new every day. Learn something new from every person you meet. Don’t let your ego get I  the way. And appreciate those you meet, even if you don’t expect them to be around for very long.

Leave a Reply

